Candidate filing period for spring election starts Tuesday

The annual filing period for city and school candidates will begin Tuesday, Dec. 6, and continue until Tuesday, Dec. 27.

The election will be April 4.

Four seats are open on the Webb City Council as the current two-year terms expire. The incumbents are: Andy Queen (1st Ward), Gina Monson (2nd Ward), Jonathan Shull (3rd Ward) and Debbie Darby (4th Ward).

Three seats are open on the Webb City R-7 School Board as the three-year terms expire for incumbents David Collard, Jeanne Newby and William Roderique.

In Carterville, Mayor Alan Griffin is up for reelection. Council members whose terms are expiring are: David Comstock (1st Ward), Judy Martin (2nd Ward), Larry Wald (3rd Ward) and Brenda Cupp (4th Ward).

There’s a council seat (2nd Ward) in Oronogo that has been vacant since Tammy Talent resigned five months ago. So now’s a good time for someone in that ward to come forward as a candidate. 

Two Oronogo incumbents up for reelection are Rick Seeley (1st Ward) and Darrell Orender (3rd Ward).