NSDA Degrees earned: (FRONT) Nina Nguyen, Alex Tyndall, Emma Combs, Wyatt Tasker, Keyerra WilesNot pictured-Wyatt Hedrick. (BACK) MacKenzie Bockoven, Camryn Klosterman, Ellie Wolsey, Evan Hendrick, Nathan Saderstrom, Justice Stiffler, Zander Perriman. (TIFFANY BOLIN PHOTO)

Debate team makes good showing at Carthage novice tournament

The Webb City High School speech and debate team competed against 18 other schools at the Carthage Novice Speech and Debate Tournament Oct. 20-23, resulting in six finalists in individual events, 26 debate wins total, and 10 awards earned. “We are so proud of these first year competitors!” says debate coach Tiffany Bolin.

Additionally, 13 students advanced during the tournament to earn their first National Speech and Debate Association (NSDA) Degree, the Degree of Merit by earning 25+ NSDA points through competition.

Evan Hendrick  place – first place oratory

Nina Nguyen  place – third place prose/poetry

Camryn Klosterman and Alex Tyndall  place – third place public forum debate

Ellie Wolsey and Emma Combs  place – third place public forum debate

Zander Perriman and Keyerra Wiles  place – fourth place public forum debate

Nathan Saderstrom  place – fourth place Lincoln Douglas Debate

Zander Perriman  place – fifth place oratory

Alex Tyndall  place – fifth place storytelling

Emma Combs  place – sixth place oratory 

Ellie Wolsey  place – seventh place international extemp 


Debate tournament winners: Camryn Klosterman, Alex Tyndall, Nathan Saderstrom,  Ellie Wolsey, Emma Combs, Keyerra Wiles and Zander Perriman. (TIFFANY BOLIN PHOTO)

Individual event finalists: Ellie Wolsey, Alex Tyndall, Emma Combs, Nina Nguyen, Evan Hendrick and Zander Perriman. (NIKKI OWENS PHOTO)


Tristan Barroeta, senior, nominated by art teacher Michael Strahan.

Staff member Dustin Craft, nominated by sophomores Keira McDonald, Elias Pruente and Kenzie Ball.

Ella Clark, sophomore, nominated by communication arts teacher Krista Peak.

Staff member Stephanie Taylor, nominated by junior Skyler Perry and sophomore Chanley Cumpton.


October Students of the Month at Carterville Elementary were nominated for showing they could be safe by: following the rules, thinking before they act, using good judgment, being aware of their surroundings, and making good decisions.

(FRONT) Kynley Stirewalt, Bentley O’Donnell, Kalli White, Laykon Coffey, Owen Diehls, Lakyn Harlen, Brodie Sparlin. (BACK) Autumn Schacht, Iris Hilburn, Cade Cranford, Tahlia Rundle and Aubrey Jensen. (LAUREN THOMPSON PHOTO)