Jasper County Republicans to caucus Saturday

Jasper County Republicans will caucus Saturday, March 2, to select their prefered presidential candidate.

Alan Griffin, mayor of Carterville and chairman of the Jasper County Republican Central Committee, says doors will open at 8:30 a.m. at Joplin Family Worship, 5290 E. Seventh St. The caucus will start at 10 a.m.

More caucus information is online.

JLT schedules 'Promises, Promises' auditions

Joplin Little Theatre will hold auditions for its production of “Promises, Promises” Tuesday, March 11 -12. The auditions will begin at 6:30 p.m. both nights at the theatre, 3009 W. Fist St.

Director Marilyn Bouldin will be casting singers and dancers, including seven men (ages 20-60), six women (ages 20-45), plus an expandable ensemble of men and women (ages 18-60).

Auditions will consist of cold readings from the script, a vocal portion of  “I Say a Little Prayer for You,” and a moderate dance portion.

Jarrett Little is the music and vocal director, while Sophie Stoebel is the choreographer.

“Promises, Promises,” a scathing and hilarious satire of the corporate world, is the exuberant musical adaptation of Billy Wilder’s Oscar-winning film “The Apartment.” In the mid 60s, Chuck Baxter, an ambitious accountant for the New York insurance company, climbs the ladder by allowing the firm’s executives to use his midtown apartment for love affairs. Trouble occurs when Chuck discovers that the object of his own love, Fran Kubelik, is having a rendezvous at his place with Chuck’s manager, J.D. Sheldrake. There are mild adult themes in this musical.

Performance dates are May 15 – 19, 2024. For more information, call the Joplin Little Theatre office at (417) 623-3638 during office hours – 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Monday through Thursday.

Jasper County Extension Council reorganizes after new members are elected

Five new members of the Jasper County Extension Council have been announced by Charles Davis, council chair.

Elected to two-year terms during a voting period that ended Jan. 19: Ashley Blake, Frances O’Kelley and Dorothy Shull, Carthage; Tami Maneval and Barbara Hunter, Jasper.

They join hold-over members: Lea Ann Keeling, Dale Lawrence, Gail Lawrence, John Marshall, Tericia Mixon, and Wayne Wilson, Carthage; Lisa Daoud, Sarcoxie; Tom Harter, Joplin; Doug Joyce, Carterville, and Bruce Waggoner, Webb City.

The appointed members to the council are:  Tom Flanigan (County Commission) and Michelle Cloud (Farm Bureau).

The council has four major responsibilities:

(1) Advise the University of Missouri on needed extension educational programs.

(2) Approve the extension staff housed in Jasper County.

(3) Arrange for financing the Jasper County Extension Center.

(4) Hold elections to perpetuate the council.

Officers elected at the annual meeting, on Tuesday, Feb. 13, are: Frances O’Kelley, chair; Barbara Hunter, vice-chair; Gail Lawrence, secretary; Wayne Wilson, treasurer, and Tom Flanigan, co-treasurer.

University of Missouri Extension programs focus on the high-priority needs of Missourians. Each county extension center, with oversight by locally elected and appointed citizens, is your local link to practical education on almost anything. More information is available online.