Carterville 2nd Ward to vote again; Oronogo's 2nd Ward seats filled with 7 write-in votes

Early voting for Carterville starts Thursday, April 13

A special runoff election will be held Tuesday, April 25, to settle a tie vote in Carterville’s 2nd Ward.

Incumbent Judy Martin and Terri Arterburn both received 31 votes on April 4.

Both candidates were given the option to either decide the outcome by “lot” such as a coin-toss or by holding a special election to determine the winner.

Both candidates chose to forgo the decision by lot and wished to move forward with another election.

The City Council passed a resolution Tuesday supporting this decision and has scheduled the special election to be held from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, April, 25, at Carterville United Methodist Church.

The election is restricted to citizens who were registered to vote at the time of the April 4 election. In other words, somebody registering after April 4 will not be eligible to vote.

Mayor Alan Griffin said Jasper County Clerk Charlie Davis is working with the city to keep the cost of the election as low as possible. Votes will be cast on paper ballots that are printed locally and hand counted.

City Administrator Will Cline announced Wednesday that early voting begins Thursday, April 13.

Michael Renberg and Jason Guild now represent the 2nd Ward

Small in number but official, write-in votes in the 2nd Ward on April 4 allowed the Oronogo Board of Aldermen on Monday to be at its full strength of six for the first time in more than a year.

City Clerk Cyndi Jennings swore in Michael Renberg for the open two-year term and Jason Guild for the one-year unexpired term. There was a total of seven write-in votes for both elections.

Reelected unopposed were Rick Seeley, 1st Ward, and Darrell Orender, 3rd Ward.

Among the agenda items was a contract ordinance with Joplin Roofing to reroof City Hall at a cost of $64,033.