State champs, open category – Yaisa Walker, Johnathon Tatum, Preston Burton and Katelyn Miller.

Webb City JROTC hosts state rifle meet, wins two state championships

Webb City High School JROTC hosted the 2024 Missouri State Rifle Championship – and claimed the championship in both categories.

There were 150 shooters on 43 teams representing 15 schools competing Thursday through Sunday at the high school’s shooting range.

Lt. Col. Dustin Elder, of course, was proud of his cadets’ for becoming state champs in both the open and basic categories. “This is the first time that we have won the state championship in the open category,” he said.

The team of Preston Burton, Johnathon Tatum, Yaisa Walker and Katelyn Miller took first place in the open (old shooter) category.

Also, the open team of Aleena Arias, Samuel Fisher, Lilly Othick and Anthony Kulju took third place.

The state champion basic (new shooter) team members are Abigail Riggs, Amy Klor, Emma Dorris, and Hope Shinn.

“I’m very proud of all of these kids and the time and work that they put in to be great,” said Elder.

Webb City JROTC rifle teams will compete next at the Army National Service Championships, Feb. 14-18 in Ohio.


Third in state, open category – Aleena Arias, Anthony Kulju, Samuel Fisher and Lilly Othick.

State champs, basic category – Emma Dorris, Abigail Riggs, Amy Klor and Hope Shinn.